MOROCCO EARTHQUAKE: Over 2500 Lost, More Feared. Please Donate

02 96461124

CFN/23686 | ABN: 64791750575

Dhul Qidah 22, 1445 H.
Fajr5:37 AM
5:40 AM

Sunrise6:50 AM

Dhur11:53 AM
12:30 PM
Asr2:36 PM
3:15 PM
Maghrib4:55 PM
05:02 PM
Isha6:18 PM
7:00 PM
[dailytable_horizontal display=iqamah_only]

[vc_row][vc_column][peach_title_shortcode title=”Salah: The Important Pillar of ISLAM”][vc_column_text]Salah is the second and important pillar of Islam. It is obligation on all Muslims of mature age to perform Salah five times a day. Salah plays a vital role in Islamic faith. In this blog, the most crucial aspects of second Islamic pillar will be discussed.

Meaning of Salah

Salah means the act of offering prayers to Allah SWT. The literal meaning of Salah is supplication or prayer and is normally measured as the act of worshipping Allah SWT; an act which is explicitly cited in the Holy Qur’an with a diversity of instructions and guidelines surrounding it.

How to Perform Salah

The procedure of performing Salah is not very complex. Muslims must be wearing proper clothing which cover the body areas properly. Their faces must be towards direction of Mecca. There are some specific verses from Quran that has to recite during Salah.
Daily Salah prayers incline towards a similar structure, though other prayers including special events like Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha differ more significantly. It is vital to educate on how to perform the prayer correctly to ensure the benefits of salah are acquired and your act of worship is received well by Allah SWT.

Instructions, Guidelines and Facts About Salah

Performing Salah is a process with a specific structure and set of principles which must be followed.
There are five daily prayers, their timing and names are mentioned below

• Fajr –performed before sunrise
• Dhuhr – performed at midday
• Asr –performed between Dhuhr and sunset
• Maghrib –performed at sunset
• Isha –Maghrib and midnight

These are the mandatory prayers only; there are also other type of prayers that Muslims can do willingly for their own advantage. Many of these voluntary prayers are commenced by Muslims during the Holy Month of Ramadan due to the numerous blessings and rewards conferred in this righteous Month.
All types of prayers are started with the recital of the Adhaan which means call to prayer. The act of Salah itself is a discussion between you and Allah SWT and is for nobody else’s advantage but your own.
Each prayer consists of a number of rakaat also known as units, which are divided throughout the day as follows:

• Fajr – 2 rakaat
• Dhuhr – 4 rakaat
• Asr – 4 rakaat
• Maghrib – 3 rakaat
• Isha – 4 rakaat

Again, any form of prayer in Islam is carried out whilst facing towards Mecca, where the Holy Ka’aba resides. This position can be ascertained using a compass.

Purpose or Benefit of Salah

The aim of Salah is to ensure that Muslims uphold their faith and devoutness to Allah SWT, to upsurge taqwa (closeness to Allah SWT) and to remain aware of the reputation of faith and submission to their Creator.

There is special significance dedicated to the Friday prayer, which is also called Salat Ul-Jummah. The Jummah Prayer is performed with audience at the local Mosque and is led by the Iman of the Masjid.

There are numerous other prayers in Islam, which might include Salat Ul-Mayyit, which is offered at the Janaza funeral of the departed one and Salat Ul-Eid, which is a prayer traditionally performed on the mornings of Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha..

As with all of the Five Pillars of Islam, Salah is a highly important obligation upon all Muslims and is essential to ensuring we stay within the boundaries of Deen and remain mindful of one’s faith.

Would you like to see more content for AICC? Email and let us know what you’d like to see.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]